Connors-BRI Symposium

Incorporating Sex as Biologic Variable to Advance Health

May 24, 2021 | 3-5PM

Virtual Event

Anju Patel, MD

Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Surgery/Otoloaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery


Objective: Gender representation on otolaryngology-head and neck surgery (OTO-HNS) journal editorial boards (EB) has not been formally examined. The aim for this study is to identify gender distribution of OTO-HNS journal EB.

Study Design: Cross-sectional analysis, with subgroup analysis comparing male/female cohorts.

Methods: EB members of the 25 highest impact factor OTO-HNS journals (2019 Journal Citation Reports data) were identified. Further analysis of 15 US-based journals in 2019 and available 2014 data (n=10) was performed. EB gender inference using binary concept was determined with software and publicly available data. Gender representation at different EB leadership positions was examined. Comparisons were made with 2014 and 2019 AAMC OTO-HNS US active physician and ACGME resident physician gender data.

Results: 1028 EB members were identified in 2019 (males,724,70%; females,304,30%). US OTO-HNS residency trained physicians were identified (males,402,81%; females,93,19%). Gender of these members were compared to benchmark AAMC OTO-HNS US active physician data (males, 7987,82%; females,1784,18%) and US ACGME OTO-HNS resident physician data in 2019 (males,1016,62%; females,623,38%). US OTO-HNS residency trained physician EB member data were divided to editors-in-chief n=11(males,10,91%; females,1,9%; p-value 0.44), other journal leadership positions n=101(males,83,82%; females,18,18%; p-value 0.96), and general EB members n=383(males,309,81%; females,74,19%; p-value 0.50). 448 EB members were identified in 2014 and US OTO-HNS residency trained physicians were examined (males,111,80%; females,27,20%). AAMC OTO-HNS US active physician data (males,7966,86%; females,1348,14%) and US ACGME OTO-HNS resident physician data in 2014 (males,952,66%; females,498,34%) were compared.

Conclusions: These findings provide the first comprehensive measure of gender distribution on OTO-HNS EB. Gender representation of US physician OTO-HNS EB members reflects the US OTO-HNS physician workforce except for the editor-in-chief role. As the workforce changes given our resident population, the specialty should monitor for parity among EB members and promote gender diversification as this enhances innovations in research and dissemination of medical information.


3PM – Welcome Remarks
3:05PM – Keynote Address
3:45PM – Featured Short Talks
4:20PM – Lightning Talks
4:50PM – Closing Remarks

Keynote Speaker

Janine Austin Clayton, MD

Janine Austin Clayton, M.D., Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health and Director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is the architect of the NIH policy requiring scientists to consider sex as a biological variable across the research spectrum. This policy is part of NIH’s initiative to enhance reproducibility through rigor and transparency. As co-chair of the NIH Working Group on Women in Biomedical Careers with NIH Director Dr. Francis Collins, Dr. Clayton also leads NIH’s efforts to advance women in science careers.

Prior to joining the ORWH, Dr. Clayton was the Deputy Clinical Director of the National Eye Institute (NEI) for seven years. A board-certified ophthalmologist, Dr. Clayton’s research interests include autoimmune ocular diseases and the role of sex and gender in health and disease. She is the author of more than 120 scientific publications, journal articles, and book chapters.
Dr. Clayton, a native Washingtonian, received her undergraduate degree with honors from Johns Hopkins University and her medical degree from Howard University College of Medicine. She completed a residency in ophthalmology at the Medical College of Virginia. Dr. Clayton completed fellowship training in cornea and external disease at the Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins Hospital and in uveitis and ocular immunology at NEI.

Dr. Clayton has received numerous awards, including the Senior Achievement Award from the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology in 2008 and the European Uveitis Patient Interest Association Clinical Uveitis Research Award in 2010. She was selected as a 2010 Silver Fellow by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. In 2015, she was awarded the American Medical Women’s Association Lila A. Wallis Women’s Health Award and the Wenger Award for Excellence in Public Service. Dr. Clayton was granted the Bernadine Healy Award for Visionary Leadership in Women’s Health in 2016. She was also selected as an honoree for the Woman’s Day Red Dress Awards and the American Medical Association’s Dr. Nathan Davis Awards for Outstanding Government Service in 2017.